san-crispino_lowOn 27 and 28 October, the new edition of the “Devotion to Work Award – Celebrating Mankind” was once again held in Vigevano, in a joint celebration that also honours the city’s protectors, Saints Crispin and Crispinian, the patron saints of cobblers, who were martyred under the reign of emperor Maximian. The event also traditionally sees the granting of the prestigious Devotion to Work Award, now its 38 edition and once again sponsored by Assocalzaturifici, which is awarded to entrepreneurs, managers, and workers who have stood out among others in the footwear industry, in their careers, and in society.

In keeping with tradition, the first part of the Devotion to Work celebrations was held Saturday night at the Vigevano Cagnoni Theatre, with the naming of the new winners who all received a certificate of merit and medal of honour in the presence of his Eminence the Cardinal Edoardo Menichelli, Archbishop Emeritus of Ancona – Osimo. The evening then continued with the musical performance of the “The fool on the hill” and the Beatles, with the voice of Daniele Soriani interpreting the songs of this legendary group from Liverpool.

The event then reached its high point on Sunday, with a procession through Vigevano’s streets that included the relics of the Patron Saints, and the participation of the award’s winners and important historical figures from the Palio della Contrada of Crispin and Crispinian. This was followed by High Mass that was celebrated as usual by Cardinal Menichelli and the Bishop of Vigevano Maurizio Gervasoni, with the swearing in of the award’s 15 winners. There was then the traditional donning of the white mantles, as a symbol of job dedication, with the red collar paying tribute to sacrifices made on the job.

The 2018 award winners were: Andrea Artioli, Calz. Star in Tradate (Varese); Andrea Brotini, Calz. Sutorius in Cerreto Guidi (Florence); Gianluca Capuano, Calz. L’arianna in Teverola (Caserta); Giovanni Casari, Off. Mecc. Sicomec in Cilavegna (Pavia); Marco Cucchetti, Off. Mecc. Ormac in Vigevano (Pavia); Fioravante D’Avino, Calz. Fimar in Piazzolla di Nola (Napoli); Donato Di Grazia, Calz. DGD in Teverola (Caserta); Giuseppe Francesco Pea, Gemini Italia in Verolanuova (Brescia); Giancarlo Rampin, Calz. Nipmar in Piazzolla Sul Brenta (Padua); Luigi Rivolta, F.lli Rivolta in Turbigo (Milan); Domenica Sabaini, Linea C-Group in Cignano di Offlaga (Brescia); and Ermanno Zorzoli, a Cobbler from Vigevano.

Special Awards were instead granted to  Tommaso Cancellara, Executive Director of Assocalzaturifici ; Giovanni Laezza, Executive Director of Riva del Garda Fierecongressi; and Ernestina Facchinetti from Anci Servizi.

Rewarded for their devotion to work were also the following Vigevano workers: Samanta Valetti, for her 30 years at Calz. Cesare Martinoli-Caimar; Maria Cinzia Finotti and Annalisa Pregnolato for their 40 years of work at Calz. Moreschi; Amedea Mangiagalli, for her 43 years at Calz. Speroni; Giuseppe Bertazzolo, Claudio Claps and Simone Migliavacca, for their 30 years of work at Off. Mecc. Sabal and Maurizio Poma, for his 36 years at Torielli.

The celebrations ended with a social luncheon held in the striking location of the Seconda Scuderia in Vigevano’s Castle Sforzesco, allowing for moments of camaraderie and socializing among the participants. Finally, on Monday, a funeral mass was held in honour of deceased workers and members of the Consortium.